Frayed Is Friendly: A Coronavirus Epiphany

Lois Kelly
2 min readApr 20, 2020

In business school I remember the word GROWTH. Grow your:

Revenue

Market share

Brand

Profitability

Headcount

Options

Strategic partnerships

Growth is king, baby. It reminds me of that 1970’s Andrea True disco song, “More, More, More. How do you like it? How do you like it?”

I was a growth queen.

Grow the business.

Grow my client base.

Grow my skills.

Grow my options.

Grow my portfolio.

Now I think about scissors.

I was going to shave my head to let the white grow in. But decided to start with a pixie cut.

I learned from YouTube that sewing shears are good for hacking your hair.

And if you need to sharpen scissors, cut into aluminum foil. That sharpens them. Easy peasy.

After the hair, I see that the grass needs to be cut. I learn that micro-clover is better than grass. It resists weeds, doesn’t need much water, and doesn’t need to be cut much. A slow-growth lawn. Not tidy and arrogant. But green enough.

After my hair and the lawn, I start cutting my St. James striped shirts with my pinking shears. They are finally the right length. They may fray in the wash, but then they will match my raggedy pixie cut.

Frayed feels so easy going. Relaxed in a nicer way than my black yoga pants.

I’m done with growth. It’s just too wild and demanding.

Frayed is friendly.

Not perfect.

Relaxing and gentle.

And still beautiful. Unlike her cousin Ragged, who was married to Growth for far too many years.

--

--

Lois Kelly

Writer/artist, co-founder of “Rebels at Work.” Most happy in the wilder-ness of people, ideas and nature.